Aussie Curves {Retro}

551731_4546414217835_273813776_n
I love when other girls wear a retro look. On Instagram – I go gaga over the outfits. I just never quite get it right when I try to do it myself though, I think I always take it too far and head to costume-town instead of staying in vintage-inspired territory. It’s like I get over excited and go one accessory too far. So I was looking forward to the challenge this week.

This Dorothy Perkins dress has a real vintage feel – from the Art Deco pattern to the ruffle peplum and length of the skirt. I fell in love with it online – and lucky I took a gamble and ordered it in the biggest size as its a tight fit across my thighs. The satin has zero stretch, it’s not too bad standing up, but I am concerned about busting the seams if I had to sit.

Immediately I wanted to rush out and buy a pill box veil hat and some little gloves to finish off the outfit. It took all my restraint, but i wanted to keep in mind my personal challenge for this outfit – chic not kitschy. I have just gone for these Art Deco style earrings I got from Forever 21 when I was on holidays in Tokyo. Simple. Probably still a bit ‘themed’ but I’m taking small steps in the right direction 🙂

As usual, when I’m stumped about which shoes to wear I reach for my nude New Look heels. And as a bonus, I think they are quite a modern touch to the retro outfit…

It’s my niece’s christening in a couple of weeks – This outfit is the lead contender at the moment, but I’m not sure about wearing a black dress to a christening? Is that just a weird ‘me’ thing – or do other people steer away from black at religious events? I don’t even know why I do it…

20130304-075830.jpg

20130304-080108.jpg

Dress: Dorothy Perkins
Earrings: Forever 21
Shoes: New Look

Ok, I couldn’t help myself – I put on the retro sunnies an took a couple of pics for fun!!

20130304-080024.jpg

Anyway, that’s my take on Retro week – I can’t wait to ‘do the rounds’ and see what the other girls came up with…. Aussie Curves is a weekly fashion challenge for Australian and New Zealand bloggers, sizes 14+. Join in the fun!

551731_4546414217835_273813776_ndisclaimer_aussiecurves12

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

10 thoughts on “Aussie Curves {Retro}

  1. I dont do religious events but I dont see why you cant wear black! This is mostly silver anyway! Love this dress, you are pulling of the chic look very well! I tend to always lean towards the kitchy side myself, but I love this!

  2. I recently purchased a Dotty P peplum dress. It is divine. I saw the one you are wearing on the website and thought it was stunning but wasnt sure how it would look on. It certainly has ‘Wow Factor’ on you! I love it1

Leave a Reply

