Aussie Curves {Military}

551731_4546414217835_273813776_n
To be honest – this one had me stumped. I trawled through my wardrobe for inspiration and came up with nothing. I’m having the same trouble with androgynous week (it’s still a few weeks away) – I’m a girly girl – when I was little I always wanted to wear princesses dresses everywhere – and when I look at my closet as an adult – it’s still 3/4 princess dresses!

So, how to do Military while still being me… Glam-ouflage!

20130306-100524.jpg

Part of me desperately wanted to go and buy one of those camo/stud jackets that are all the rage – but I’ve been down that path before – buying something that’s bang on trend but not-me – it sits at the back of the closet and I end up selling it on eBay two seasons later, with pangs of regret about what could-have-been. Maybe it’s because I’ve been watching a lot of Gok Wan repeats on the lifestyle channel, maybe it’s because my husband just moved his clothes to the spare room so I could have both sides of ‘our’ walk-in-robe… But I am actively trying to curb my over-buying ways of the past and invest in clothes that are ‘me’ (cut/style/shape).

So, confession time: my entire outfit this week… Is brand new. BUT, each piece is still me, and will get a lot of wear.

20130306-101221.jpg
Tried a middle part and straight slicked down hair for this look

20130306-101239.jpg

Last week I did a review of my shopping stop at the Virtu Clearance Store (read it here) and today’s outfit showcases some of my bargains… This grey sweater-dress ($20) has nice button details on the shoulders and cuff, which reminded me of the military look… After a couple hours wearing a knit dress, I always find that it looses its shape a bit – so I generally add a belt around my waist – and when I saw this khaki belt for only $5 at the checkout, I knew it was the perfect finishing touch to the outfit.

20130306-101035.jpg

20130306-100733.jpg

The boots were a bit of a splurge purchase from Dorothy Perkins. They had a 25%off everything sale with free international postage – it was too good not to order these beauties. AND, they will get a lot of wear over the cold months as they are flat, comfy, enclosed and look pretty hot with skinny jeans…

Dress: Virtu
Belt: Virtu
Tights: Wetlook tights from New Look
Boots: Dorothy Perkins

20130306-101635.jpg

Anyway, that’s my take on Military week – I can’t wait to ‘do the rounds’ and see what the other girls came up with…. Aussie Curves is a weekly fashion challenge for Australian and New Zealand bloggers, sizes 14+. Join in the fun!

551731_4546414217835_273813776_ndisclaimer_aussiecurves12

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link to the list and view the rest of the ladies joining in this week’s challenge…

9 thoughts on “Aussie Curves {Military}

  1. The military details do show up beautifully. The shoulders look quite epaulette-esque. The outfit looks great and really suits you.

  2. I had trouble this week too, I’m the same as you, quite girly! I’m loving this outfit, and you did shopping for Military but buying an outfit that you’ll wear over and over. I’m loving those boots!

Leave a Reply

