Dorothy Perkins Haul – Part 1

I know it seems like I have done a lot of online shopping lately. Thats probably because I have.

I stick to (an almost) zero budget – in that I have to sell clothes to buy clothes. Because of my weigthloss, I’m finding it easier than ever before to part with clothes – mainly because they dont fit anymore.

I was never much of a Dorothy Perkins fan when I lived in London. To be honest – I dont ever remember shopping in a store. But recently I have become obessed!

eek – maybe its because im older now. I see value in clothes that can be worn to work as well as on weekends. Plus, If im going to spend 60 hours a week in the office – I may as well LOVE what I’m wearing.

Dorothy Perkins is a bit more expensive than New Look, but probably on par with ASOS in terms of both quality and price. I have always found their garments to be well made, and I have been impressed with the quality of the fabric.

I do find that their jersey and ponte starts to pill after a while – but I tend to wear chuncky necklaces and are not helping the matter.

DP postage is pretty quick. I placed this order on the 29th March and it arrived on the 8th April. Postage is generally around 10pounds, but they have promotions very frequently for free international shipping. They also do great discount codes – and if there is nothing currently on offer (and you are a student) than you can get a 15% off discount code through Unidays.

So, for this order, I got free international shipping and 15% Unidays discount. The discounts apply to sale items too – which is a nice touch – expecially since I was buying a bit of sale stuff 🙂

Petite lace sweetheart dress

Now, I didnt read the first word for this dress – I just saw it and loved it. Serves me right – it’s PETITE and I am NOT. It fits – dont get me wrong – it fits beautifully – its just miles too short. My friends would call this a Gosford Skirt (as its only a short distance from the Entrance) – thats a little joke for the NSW folks out there.

Size: 18
Fits like: 18
Pros: Cute blush colour, nice fit, good quality lace
Cons: Length and if im being really picky, the arm hole size could have been bigger – but thats probably my fault for not reading the word Petite!
Price: £24.00
Find it here
I plan to style this dress with leggings for winter anyway, so it will not be that much of a drama.

20130414-203234.jpg

Ivory foil pussybow blouse

Size: 18
Fits like: 18-20
Pros: The gold foil print is STUNNING
Cons: It doesnt come with an undershirt/singlet – just the sheer layer. That was clear in the description, but for the price, would have been nice
Paid: £26.00
Find it here

20130414-202853.jpg

Eden black ultra soft jegging

If I could afford to get these in every colour available I would. Great amount of stretch, great fit.
Size: 16R
Fits like: 18
Pros: I LOVE these. I order a size smaller as they are superstretchy and I like my jeggings tight (plus they will last me longer). I wore my size 20 Cement coloured ones from sizes 22 – 18. I only recently got rid of them as they were a bit baggy in the bum – still great in the legs.
Cons: Nil
Paid: £23.00
Find it here

20130414-202859.jpg

Here they are together

20130416-092800.jpg

Coral bonded lace panelled top

I wasnt sure on this one – but ABSOLUTELY love it.
Size: 20
Fits like: 18-20
Pros: I took a gamble on the sizing for this one as they didnt have an 18. It’s perfect. Love the little cap sleeves. Love the colour. Love the Zip detail on the back for something a little funky (it has a black and gold exposed zip down almost the length of the back of the top). Love the length – it comes down to just the right point for me! Love that its bonded lace so it doesn’t get caught on necklaces and earring, but still has a beautiful texture.
Cons: Nil
Paid: ON SALE £15.00
Find it here
I wore it out to dinner on Saturday with my New Look Silver Collar necklace…

20130414-160156.jpg

Embroidered yoke Western shirt

Size: 16
Fits like: 16
Pros: Im dissapointed in this one
Cons: I was surprised by the materials – it was like a cheescloth – It was a little disappointing – there was nothing on the website to give me an indication that it would be that fabric. The whole top just looks a little more hokey than I was expecting. In a different material, with embrodery thread – this may have looked great. Did not live up to expectation.
Paid: ON SALE £17.00
Find it here

20130414-152428.jpg

Black and stone graphic dress

At least I’m finishing up Part 1 on a high – I LOVE this dress!!
Size: 18
Fits like: 18
Pros: Fully lined, very well finished. nice cut and pattern
Cons: Top half is a perfect 18, bottom half is tighter, not unwearable – but im not sure this is supposed to be bodycon and that is how it is fitting. Still looks good as far as I’m concerned – just not sure I would be able to sit in it all day at work.
Paid: £25.00
Find it here

20130411-140804.jpg

7 thoughts on “Dorothy Perkins Haul – Part 1

  1. I love these posts of yours. So thorough with the review.
    I’m a little bigger than you, but it helps to know how the sizes run etc.
    Laughing at the PETITE dress mistake – although it still looks super cute – look forward to seeing how you style it in winter.

  2. Your reviews are so helpful and everything you buy is so amazing!

    I’m also currently losing weight so I NEED to buy the jeggings 🙂

    • Aww thanks Sarah – I’m glad to know that the reviews are helpful to people 🙂

      Jeggings have been my lifesaver while loosing weight. I’ve been living in them for months now 🙂

  3. Pingback: Dorothy Perkins Haul – Part 2 | iCurvy: An Aussie Shop-a-holic and Plus Size blogger

  4. Pingback: Aussie Curves {Heels} | iCurvy

  5. Pingback: (Another) Dorothy Perkins Haul! | iCurvy

Leave a Reply

