Peplum V Peplum

20130713-162937.jpg
On the Aussie Curves Facebook page – girls are always asking for advice on the best peplum – where different brands sit on the torso, how long is the peplum… Since I own a whole lot of peplum tops from different brands, I thought I would do a compare and share on Peplums…

The figures on my figure

So, to be helpful, I’m going to list my measurements at the time of the photos… Hopefully it will be useful information for you all! By the way, I’m 169cms tall.

20130713-163031.jpg

I decided to wear a dark patterned bra so you can also see the quality of the peplums as well. Obviously if I was wearing them out in public – I would wear a nude bra or singlet… But this post is all about being a helpful resource!

City Chic

20130713-163429.jpg
I’m wearing a size XS.

I feel like CC peplums are longer in the torso and the frill is much lower.

Autograph

20130713-163545.jpg

I’m wearing a size 14.

I find the waist a lot higher on the autograph peplum, and so the frill is more exaggerated and sits out from the body.

Dorothy Perkins

20130713-163742.jpg

I’m wearing a size 20. It’s slightly see through, but being white you would expect that. The peplum sits at a nice height on my natural waist, and I like the volume of the peplum. I’d prefer an extra cm of length on the frill – but it doesn’t really bother me…

20130713-164052.jpg
I’m what was a bit of lucky break for this review, I have accidentally ordered a Dorothy Perkins Petite size peplum top – so you can see the difference… I’m wearing a size 20 petite – as you can see, much shorter in the torso and the frill finishes much higher than I am comfortable with…

New Look

20130713-164308.jpg
This is from the New Look Inspire line, and it’s one if my favorite peplums. I’m wearing a size 18. The waist is nice and low, and there is the right volume in the peplum, so it doesn’t sit too far out from my body.

20130713-164746.jpg
This is a hi-low peplum from the straight size New Look range – I’m wearing size 18. As you can see the material is super thin, but I thought I would include it here for comparison sake.

Big W

20130713-165605.jpg
And lastly I’m wearing a size 16 from the Emerson line at Big W. material is quite thin, and hasn’t held up that well to wear, but I’ve always liked the shape and fit of this peplum.

Hope you found that all helpful!

Where is your favorite place to buy peplums?

Happy shopping!

20130713-165818.jpg

7 thoughts on “Peplum V Peplum

  1. That’s A LOT of peplum you have going on Jo Jo! Would you believe I don’t own a single one — I guess I’m steering more towards dresses these days (I’d love the autograph one if it continued on into a dress – lovely colours).

  2. Wow thats a huge difference in sizes, from 14 to 20! I wish there was better sizing standards. it would make it so much easier to shop online!

  3. All my measurements are within a cm or 2 of yours (I’m more pear shaped, little smaller up top and little bigger round the hips but overall very similar stats!) so this is super super helpful, love it!
    One extra measurement that’d be helpful for online shopping, how tall are you?
    Thanks so much xxx

  4. Thanks so much Jo. What a great resource. I am wearing a CC peplum today. Now I understand why the DP tops don’t fit me. If you need a 20 and wear a CC xs then DP goes nowhere near fitting my XL size. Very helpful information

  5. Pingback: Aussie Curves {Ruffles} | iCurvy

Leave a Reply

